Some pics from a day in Texas


This blog was begun as a way to keep people in the Strathroy Area informed about the birds in this area.  However, since I now spend my winters in Texas, I thought I would share some words and pictures of a trip I took yesterday.  I went to Estero Llano Grande State Park.  This park is about a 30 minute drive from my place in the Rio Grande Valley.  It is a wonderful park that caters to birds and birders.

For the past two weeks, a Rose-throated Becard has been hanging out in the park.  Most often it is seen in and around this feeding area.

feeding-andwater-drip-area-in-estero-where-the-rose-throated-becard-is-hanging-out

I took this picture of the Becard.  Not a very good picture.  But the bird is constantly on the move.  It was the best picture I could manage of this very beautiful bird.  It has sort of a blackish tuft of feathers on the head.  A light reddish line around the throat.  A white belly.  And a tan coloured back.

my-best-pic-of-the-rose-throated-becard-january-19-2017

Along the trail leading to the visitor centre, I took this picture of a Long-billed Thrasher.  I also saw an Olive Sparrow along this trail, but I could not get a picture.

long-billed-thrasher-at-estero-january-19-2017

On my walk towards the back of the park, where the feeding station is located, I spotted an American Robin perched high on a snag.  I took this picture.  American Robins are a bit on the rare side in the Rio Grande Valley.  However, most winters, there are a few that stay in the park.  There was also a flock of Clay-coloured Thrush in the park.  They were feeding on figs in the fig tree.   They are related closely to American Robins.

american-robin-at-estero-january-19-2017

Back beside the feeder area there is a large cactus.  This Northern Mockingbird kept his eye on me as I stood beside the cactus.

this-mockingbird-was-keeping-a-close-eye-on-me

This hummingbird feeder, one of many in the park, is situated right beside the visitor centre.  This Ruby-throated Hummingbird made frequent visits to the feeder.

ruby-throated-hummingbird-at-estero-january-19-2017

The visitor centre is situated adjacent to a small lake.  This body of water, one of several in the park, is full of wading birds, ducks and grebes.  he Least Grebe is a local bird in the valley.

least-grebe-at-estero-january-19-2017

These pictures are of a Blue-winged Teal and a Green-winged Teal.

On the way back home, I stopped to get a picture of the Mountain Bluebird that has picked this area to spend the winter.  Unusual.  First time in the 4 winters that I have spend here, anyway.

mountain-bluebird

Right across the road from the Mountain Bluebird, there is a ditch.  These Roseate Spoonbills flew up out of the ditch while I was watching the bluebird.

roseate-spoonbills-right-across-the-street-from-the-mountain-bluebird

A little closer to home here in the valley, I stopped to take this picture of a Ringed Kingfisher.  There are three species of Kingfisher resident here in the Rio Grande Valley.  Ringed, Belted, and Green.  I should also mention that, for three out of the last four years, an Amazon Kingfisher has made its winter home in the valley.

ringed-kingfisher-along-highway-281-january-19-2017

I hope you enjoyed this little travelogue of a day out birding here in the Rio Grande Valley.  I took these pictures with a little point and click camera.  The lighting was not the best.  Still, some of the pictures turned out okay.

 

 

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ulila Robson on January 24, 2017 at 4:57 pm

    Thank You so much for the pics. They are great to see when one is wintering up here in Canada! Although I have seen a Brown Creeper and a Fox sparrow at our backyard feeder in December. Nice surprise.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lynn Sanders on January 23, 2017 at 10:28 am

    Thanks Dave. Great pics. Nice to see what some of our “snow birds” are doing for the winter. We saw 5 robins feeding on crabapples beside our house this winter. And one male is still around. We only hope his audacious strategy for being first on the breeding grounds pays off!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2017 at 11:52 am

    Very Nice Thanks for sharing.
    The Baldeagle is chasing the local turkeys on our concession.
    Mike

    Reply

Leave a Reply

